Lampman Award 2014

Arc has announced the finalists for the Lampman Award, including our next Tree Seed Workshop Facilitator Peter Richardson and a past workshop facilitator, Sandra Ridley who is guest writing in September OpenBook,

Arc Poetry Magazine presents Ottawa Poetry Awards Reading
Each year, Arc Poetry Magazine honours Ottawa poets. Arc is proud to present the three 2014 finalists for the Archibald Lampman Award for the outstanding book of poetry by a National-Capital area author. Also featured are winners of the Brebner Prize competition, which honours emerging poets in the Ottawa area. The readings will take place at Pressed, 750 Gladstone Ave, Ottawa, Ontario at 7:30pm on Thursday, October 9
The Finalists:
David O’Meara, A Pretty Sight (Toronto; Coach House, 2013)
A Pretty Sight’s imaginative scope is immense, even as it wields organized control over its storytelling and its richly textured language. This is a powerful book by a gifted poet. David O’Meara lives in Ottawa. He is the author of three collections of poetry and a play, Disaster, nominated for four Rideau Awards.
Peter Richardson, Bit Parts for Fools (Fredericton, Goose Lane Editions, 2013)
Peter Richardson takes unusual care with his lines and packs them with startling imagery. He writes convincingly with wicked wit and exuberance and, when appropriate, an unusually winning and slightly sardonic seriousness. Peter Richardson is the author of three poetry collections. He lives in Gatineau.
Sandra Ridley, The Counting House (Toronto, BookThug, 2013)
This is a remarkably adventurous and fascinating book. The Counting House explores in different registers a failed or failing relationship and the states of mind of someone caught, wretched and in desperate need of escape. The verbal units may be fragmentary, but they assemble with great power in the reader. Sandra Ridley is the author of three books of poetry. She lives in Ottawa.
The event will also feature the 2013 winners of the Diana Brebner Award, given for the best work by an emerging Ottawa-area poet not published in book form. The $500 prize was won this year by Anne Marie Todkill, with Honourable Mention going to Vivian Vavassis.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.